Intrada Furiosa

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

2021 • Symphonic Wind Band • Grade 5 • 4′ • FC Music Publishing

Also available for Brass Ensemble.

Instrumentation Picc, 2Fl, 2Ob, 2Bsn, EbCl, 3Cl, BCl, 2ASax, TSax, BSax, 3Tpt, 4Hn, 3Tbn, 2Euph, 2Tba, DBs(opt) // 5 Perc (4Timp, WindC, BD, Whip, Mari, T-T, SuspC, CrashC, 4WB, SD, Glock, Tamb, Vibra, Tri, Xylo, Crot, TubB)

Intrada Furiosa is an energetic fanfare for symphonic wind band, featuring brilliant fanfare writing for brass and challenging lines in woodwinds, as well as more lyric parts.

The piece follows an ABA form. Right from the start of the piece, the trumpets expose the main fanfare motif of the piece. This motif is based on the 5 first notes of the Lydian scale. The low brass answer with the same motif, but augmented and inverted.

The first theme is exposed by the horns in a pompous and frenetic first section. The middle part (measure 39) introduces a new chord progression and new musical material, more lyrical and appeased. This will be developed in the following section in a majestic way, leading to a climax (measure 92). After a short and peaceful break, the music returns to the tempo primo, giving most instruments to prove their virtuosity. A crescendo in volume, orchestration and tension leads to the return of the fanfare (measure 126), this time with the harmony of the middle section.

This work was premiered on June 18th, 2022, by the Wind Band La Gérinia in Marly (Fribourg, Switzerland).

Intrada Furiosa

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

2021 • Harmonie • Grade 5 • 4′ • FC Music Publishing

Cette oeuvre existe également en version Ensemble de cuivres.

Instrumentation: Picc, 2Fl, 2Ob, 2Bsn, EbCl, 3Cl, BCl, 2ASax, TSax, BSax, 3Tpt, 4Hn, 3Tbn, 2Euph, 2Tba, DBs(opt) // 5 Perc (4Timp, WindC, BD, Whip, Mari, T-T, SuspC, CrashC, 4WB, SD, Glock, Tamb, Vibra, Tri, Xylo, Crot, TubB)

Intrada Furiosa est une fanfare énergique pour harmonie où des motifs de fanfare brillants aux cuivres ainsi que des traits fougueux aux bois contrastent avec des moments plus lyriques.

La pièce suit une forme ternaire ABA. Dès les premières mesures, les trompettes exposent le motif principal de la pièce, au caractère de fanfare. Celui-ci est basé sur une suite de 5 notes, les cinq premières du mode lydien. Les cuivres graves répondent ensuite aux trompettes avec le même motif, mais augmenté et inversé.

Le premier thème est exposé par les cors dans une première section endiablée et pompeuse. La section centrale (mesure 39) est introduite par une nouvelle progression d’accords et un nouveau matériau mélodique plus lyrique et apaisé. Celui-ci est développé par la suite de manière de plus en plus majestueuse jusqu’à un climax (mesure 92). Après un bref moment d’apaisement, la musique retrouve peu à peu son tempo primo, tandis que les divers registres mettent à l’épreuve leur virtuosité. Un crescendo d’intensité, d’orchestration et une accélération de tempo mène au retour de la fanfare (mesure 126), avec cette fois l’harmonie de la section centrale.

L’oeuvre a été créée le 18 juin 2022 par l’Harmonie La Gérinia de Marly (Fribourg, Suisse).